South Carolina County/District formations

1682-1706 counties, first counties: Berkely, Colleton, Craven. All courts/records kept at Charleston

1706-1769, Anglican parishes created and were the main divisions

1769 seven districts formed no counties. Different boundaries from parishes

1785 counties formed within districts, old districts abolished. Parishes abolished

1800 counties converted to districts

1868 districts converted to counties

COUNTY/DISTRICT	STATUS	CHILDREN
Abbeville Co/Dist/Co	1733-1769 Granville & Colleton Cos	
	1769-1785 Ninety-Six Dist	
	1785-1800 Abbeville Co of 96 Dist	
	1800-1868 Abbeville District	
	1868- Abbeville County	
Aiken Co	1871 from Edgefield, Orangeburg, Barnwell,	
	Lexington	
Allendale Co	1919-Barnwell & Hampton	
Anderson Dist/Co	1733-1769 Granville & Colleton Cos	
	1769-1789 not in SC	
	1789-1826 Pendleton Co, 96 th Dist	
	1826-1868 Anderson District	
	1868- Anderson County	
Barnwell Dist/Co	1733-1769 Granville & Colleton Cos	
	1769-1785 Orangeburg Dist	
	1785-1791 Winton Co Orangeburg Dist	
	1791-1800 Orangeburg Dist	
	1800-1868 Barnwell Dist	
	1868- Barnwell County	
Beaufort Dist/Co	1685-1708 Carteret County	1878 Hampton Co
	1708-1769 Granville County	1912 Jasper
	1712-1745 St Helena's Parish	
	1745-1800 St Helena's & Prince William's Parish	
	1769-1868 Beaufort District	
	1868- Beaufort County	
Berkeley Co	1682-1769 Berkeley County	

	1706-1785 St Andrews, St James Goose Creek, St James Santee, St Denis, Christ Church, St Phillips Parishes, 1717 St George Dorcester added, 1751 St Michaels added 1769 Berkeley County dissolved 1769-1800 Charleston District 1800-1868 Charleston & Colleton Dists 1868-1911 Charleston & Colleton Cos 1911- Charleston County	
Camden Dist	1733-1769 Craven County 1757-1778 St Marks Parish 1769-1800 Camden District 1785 counties formed within 1800 Camden District dissolved	1785 Chester, Clarendon, Claremont, Fairfield, Lancaster ,Richland, York
Carteret Co	1685-1708 Carteret County 1708 named changed to Granville County	
Charleston Dist/Co	1682-1769 Berkeley County 1706-1785 St Andrews, St James Goose Creek, St James Santee, St Denis, Christ Church, St Phillips Parishes, 1717 St George Dorcester added, 1751 St Michaels added 1769-1800 Charleston District 1800-1868 Charleston & Colleton Dists 1868-1911 Charleston & Colleton Cos 1911- Charleston County	1800 Colleton
Cheraws Dist	1757-1768 St Mark &Prince Frederick Parishs 1768-1785 St David's Parish 1769-1800 Cheraws District 1785 counties formed within 1800 dissolved	1785 Chesterfield, Darlington, Marlboro
Cherokee Co	1769-1785 Ninety-six District 1785-1800 Union & Spartanburg in 96 th Dist, York in Camden Dist 1800-1868 Union, York, Spartanburg Dist's 1868-1897 Union, York, Spartanburg Co's 1897 Cherokee Co	
Chester Co/Dist/Co	1757-1785 St Mark Parish 1769-1785 Camden Dist	

	1785-1791 Chester Co Camden Dist 1791-1800 Chester Co Pinckney Dist	
	1800-1868 Chester Dist	
	1868- Chester Co	
Chesterfield Co/Dist/Co	1757-1768 St Mark Parish	
	1768-1785 St David Parish	
	1769-1785 Cheraw Dist	
	1785-1800 Chesterfield Co Cheraw Dist	
	1800 Chesterfield Dist	
	1868 Chesterfield	
Claremont Co	1785 part of Camden Dist	1792 Salem Co
	1800 dissolved, part of Sumter Dist	
Clarendon Co	1785 part of Camden Dist	
	1800 dissolved, part of Sumter Dist	
Colleton Co	1682 original county	
	1769 dissolved	
Craven Co	1682 original county	
	1769 dissolved	
Darlington Co/Dist/Co	1733-1769 Craven Co	
	1763-1768 St Marks Parish	
	1768-1785 St Davids Parish	
	1769-1785 Cheraws Dist	
	1785-1800 Darlington Co Cheraws Dist	
	1800-1868 Darlington Dist	
	1868- Darlington Co	
Dillon Co	1734-1785 Prince Frederick Parish	
	1769-1785 Georgetown Dist	
	1785-1800 Liberty Co Georgetown Dist	
	1800-1868 Marion Dist	
	1868-1910 Marion County	
	1910- Dillon Co	1010110
Edgefield Co/Dist/Co	1733-1769 Granville Co	1916 McCormick Co
	1769-1785 Ninety-six Dist	
	1785-1800 Edgefield Co Ninety-six Dist	
	1800-1868 Edgefield Dist	
	1868- Edgefield Co	

Farfield Co/Dist/Co 1757-1785 St Mark Parish	
1769-1785 Camden Dist	
1785-1800 Fairfield Co Camden Dist	
1800-1868 Fairfield Dist	
1868- Fairfield Co	
Florence Co -1888 Macon, Darlington, Clarendon, and	
Washington Co	
1888 Florence Co	
Georgetown Dist/Co/Dist 1691-1769 Craven Co 1800 Marion Dist	
1722-1734 Prince George Parish 1801 Horry Dist	
1734-1767 Prince George, Prince Frederick 1804 Williamsburg Dist	
Parishes	
1767-1785 Prince George, Prince Frederick, All	
Saints Parishes	
1769-1868 Georgetown Dist	
1868- Georgetown Co	
Granville Co 1708 named from Carteret	
1769 dissolved	
Greenville Co/Dist/Co 1786-1791 Greenville Co 96 th Dist from	
Indian lands	
1791-1800 Greenville Co Washington Dist	
1800-1868 Greenville Dist	
1868- Greenville Co	
Horry Dist/Co 1801 from Georgetown Dist	
1868 county	
Kershaw Co/Dist/Co 1791 part of Camden Dist	
1800 Kershaw Dist	
1868 county	
Lancaster Co/Dist/Co 1785 part of Cheraws Dist	
1800 Lancaster Dist	
1868 county	
Laurens Co/Dist/Co 1785 part of 96 Dist	
1800 Laurens Dist	
1868 county	
Lewisburg Co 1785 part of Orangeburg Dist	
1791 de-organized	
Lexington Co 1734-1785 Prince Frederick Parish	

	1769-1785 Orangeburg Dist	
	1791 de-organized	
Marion Dist/Co	1734-1785 Prince Frederick Parish	
	1769-1785 Georgetown Dist	
	1785-1800 Liberty Co Georgetown Dist	
	1800-1868 Marion Dist	
	1868- Marion County	1910 Dillon Co
Marlboro Co/Dist/Co	1785 part of Cheraws Dist	
	1800 Marlboro Dist	
	1868 county	
Newberry Co/Dist/Co	1785 part of 96 Dist	
-	1800 Newberry Dist	
	1868 county	
Ninety-Six Dist	1769 new district	1785 Abbeville, Edgefield, Laurens,
-	1785 counties formed within	Newberry, Spartanburg, Union, Greenville,
	1800 dissolved	Pendleton
Orange Co	1785 part of Orangeburg Dist	
_	1791 de-organized	
Orange Co	1778 subdivision of Orangeburg Dist	
	1785 dissolved	
Orangeburg Dist/Co	1769 new district	1800 Barnwell Dist
	1868 county	
Pendleton Co/Dist	1789 added to 96 Dist from Indian land	
	1800 Pendleton Dist	
	1826 abolished and divided into Anderson &	
	Pickney	
Pickens Dist/Co	1826 from Pendleton Dist	
	1868 county	
Pickney Dist	1791 from 96 & Camden Dist's	
	1800 dissolved	
Richland Co/Dist/Co	1733-1769 Craven Co	
	1757-1785 St Marks Par	
	1769-1785 Camden Dist	
	1785-1799 Richland Co Camden Dist	
	1799-1868 Richland Dist	
	1868- Richland County	

Salem Co	1792 from other counties, part of Cheraws Dist 1800 dissolved, part of Sumter Dist	
Saluda Co	1897	
Spartanburg Co/Dist/Co	1785 part of 96 Dist 1791 part of Pickney Dist 1800 Spartanburg Dist 1868 county	Spartanburg City created about 1780
Sumter Dist/Co	1800 from Clarendon, Claremont, and Salem Dist's 1868 county	
Union Co/Dist/Co	1785 part of 96 Dist 1800 Union Dist 1868 county	
Washington Co	1791 part of 96 Dist 1800 dissolved	
Williamsburg Co/Dist/Co	1785 Co created within Georgetown Dist 1791 dissolved. Just Georgetown Dist 1804 Dist created, same as old County 1868 Williamsburg Co	
Winton Co	1733-1669 Granville Co 1769-1785 Orangeburg Dist 1785-1791 Winton Co Orangeburg Dist 1791-1800 Orangeburg Dist 1800-1868 Barnwell Dist 1868- Barnwell Co	
York Co/Dist/Co	1785 part of Camden Dist 1791 part of Pickney Dist 1800 York Dist 1868 county	